Posted by: marymarthatours | May 5, 2010

Wordsworth’s Daffodils and Mine

William Wordsworth and I have something in common — we both love daffodils. Wordsworth wrote his famous poem, “I Wandered Lonely as a Cloud” (commonly known as “Daffodils”), in 1804. At that time, he was living at Dove Cottage in Grasmere in the English Lake District. According to his sister Dorothy, she and William were walking near Ullswater when they saw a long belt of daffodils blooming under the trees along the shore of the lake.

clip_image002

English Spring Daffodils (photo by Patrick Mackie)

Wordsworth described the sight with a poet’s eye and sensitivity.

I wander’d lonely as a cloud

That floats on high o’er vales and hills

When all at once I saw a crowd,

A host, of golden daffodils;

Beside the lake, beneath the trees,

Fluttering and dancing in the breeze.

The daffodils in my garden aren’t quite that rampant, but I love the color and fragrance (yes, some daffs are scented) they bring to my garden in the spring. This year, our spring came early in Minnesota, so I’ve been enjoying daffodils since early April. I grow a number of daffodil varieties, including some of Wordsworth’s golden ones, but my favorites are the white ones.

clip_image004 clip_image006 clip_image008

“Accent”, “Bell Song”, and “Thalia” Daffodils in my spring garden

And even with my limited numbers of daffodils, I can totally understand what Wordsworth meant in the last stanza of “Daffodils”.

For oft, when on my couch I lie

In vacant or in pensive mood

They flash upon that inward eye

Which is the bliss of solitude;

And then my heart with pleasure fills,

And dances with the daffodils.

We won’t see daffodils when the England in Miniature Tour visits Dove Cottage in Grasmere this September. But we will have a chance to see the house where the poem was written and to see the gorgeous countryside that inspired Wordsworth’s many works. Come with us and be inspired too.

clip_image010

Dove Cottage (photo by Christine Hasman)

(by Mary)

Full text of “I Wander’d Lonely as a Cloud”: www.blupete.com/Literature/Poetry/WordsworthDaffodils.htm

My favorite bulb supplier: www.johnscheepers.com

Photo of daffodils on bank: copyright Patrick Mackie and licensed for reuse under Creative Commons Attribution ShareAlike 2.0 license.

Photo of Dove Cottage: copyright Christine Hasman and licensed for reuse under Creative Commons Attribution ShareAlike 2.0 license.

Leave a Reply

Categories

